Table of contents




1: Professional Needs

2: Discipline & Practice

3: Scope

4: Communication

5: Tasks & Financing


Purpose and Mission


Start: End: Publication Date: 2013-05-16


First name: Owen

Last name: Ambur

Email Address:


Name: ACR Environmental and Public Policy Section

Acronym: ACREPPS


ACREPPS Members: Members are active in environmental and public policy dispute resolution in the U.S. and Canada. Their cases range from small group to large multiparty cases, from site-specific to regulatory negotiations. Members include sole practitioners; staff of Provincial, Federal and State agencies; large and small NGOs, as well as student members.

ACR EPP Section Leadership: The ACR EPP Section Leadership Council governs and carries out the mission of the Section. It is comprised of elected members who serve staggered two-year terms and appointed committee chairs. The Leadership Council meets by phone on the second Friday of every month at 12:30 pm Eastern time. Section members are welcome to participate. If you would like to join a Leadership Council call, please contact one of the co-chairs for call-in information.

Suzanne Schwartz: Co-Chair 2011-2013. Environmental Program Manager, University of Texas Center for Public Policy Dispute Resolution, Austin, TX

Turner Odell: Co-Chair 2012-2014. Natural Resources Program Manager, Oregon Consensus, Portland, OR.

Brad Spangler: Immediate Past Co-Chair; Co-Chair, New Directions Committee. Mediator and Program Manager, Meridian Institute, Arvada, CO.

Kevin Bryan: Chair, Diversity & Equity Committee. Senior Mediator and Program Manager, Meridian Institute, Washington, DC.

Jason Gershowitz: Chair, Web Communication Committee. Collaborative Technology Associate, Kearns & West, Washington, DC.

Peter Harkema: Elected Member, 2011-2013; Co-Chair New Directions Committee. Project Manager, Oregon Consensus, Portland, OR.

Britt Ide: Elected Member, 2012-2014. President, Ide Law & Strategy, PLLC, Boise, ID.

Maria Placht: Elected Member, 2011-2013. Water Policy and Conflict Resolution Advisor, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Institute for Water Resources, Alexandria, VA.

Kenneth Rosenbaum: Ethics Point Person. Principal, Sylvan Environmental Consultants, Falls Church, VA.

Joan Sabott: Elected Member, 2011-2013 and Chair, Professional Development & Member Services Committee. Program Manager, CDR Associates, Boulder, CO.

Steve Smutko: Elected Member, 2012-2014. Spicer Chair in Collaborative Practice, University of Wyoming, Laramie, WY.

Conference Planning Committee: Co-Chairs, Gail Bingham and Jenny Biddle. Plans the annual section conference, and provides continuity from previous conferences.

Gail Bingham: Conference Planning Committee Co-Chair

Jenny Biddle : Conference Planning Committee Co-Chair

Professional Development & Member Services Committee: Professional Development & Member Services. Co-Chairs, Joan Sabott and Amanda Murphy. Coordinates activities to assist the educational, training and professional development of our members. Currently working on producing webinars and developing a mid-level practitioner peer learning network.

Joan Sabott: Conference Planning Committee Co-Chair

Amanda Murphy: Conference Planning Committee Co-Chair

New Directions Committee: Co-Chairs, Peter Harkema and Brad Spangler. Focuses on growing and evolving the environmental and public policy ADR field, including adding value to the practice, identifying leadership opportunities, and articulating the unique needs and interests of the EPP Section.

Peter Harkema: New Directions Committee Co-Chair

Brad Spangler: New Directions Committee Co-Chair

Web Communications Committee: Chair, Jason Gershowitz. Coordinates website content development and maintenance, facilitates communication with and among EPP members, and serves a clearinghouse role to facilitate effective use of technology to support our field.

Jason Gershowitz: Web Communications Committee Chair



To support and enhance the field as a whole and to create opportunities to improve the skills of its members who are intervenors and trainers.

Goal 1: Professional Needs

Identify and serve the professional needs of everyone practicing in the environmental and public dispute resolution field


Environmental Dispute Resolution Practitioners

Public Dispute Resolution Practitioners



Goal 2: Discipline & Practice

Organize and help guide the development of the discipline and the practice of environmental and public dispute resolution



Goal 3: Scope

Work to define the scope of our section's concerns and practice



Goal 4: Communication

Establish and maintain communication among ourselves (practitioners), providers, users and researchers in environmental and public dispute resolution


Environmental Dispute Resolution Practitioners

Public Dispute Resolution Practitioners

Environmental Dispute Resolution Providers

Public Dispute Resolution Providers

Environmental Dispute Resolution Users

Public Dispute Resolution Users

Environmental Dispute Resolution Researchers

Public Dispute Resolution Researchers


Other Information:

The Section's enormously successful mid-year conferences provide many opportunities for mutual support to enhance the professional capacities of participants.


Goal 5: Tasks & Financing

Create and identify joint tasks that mobilize and effectively involve volunteers and that generate financial resources.




(Stylesheet revision: 2012-09-20)


Stylesheet revision (main): 2010-10-20T20:10:10.20Z
Stylesheet revision (base): 2010-10-20T20:10:10.20Z